Abdullah Headlines List Of Players On Early Summer Award Watch L - kotanow.com- Scottsbluff Area News, Sports, and Weather

Abdullah Headlines List Of Players On Early Summer Award Watch Lists

Posted: Updated:
Several Nebraska football players will start the year on award watch lists. Headlining the list senior running back Ameer Abdullah.
One of the nation's top backs was named to both the Maxwell Award and Paul Hornung Award. The Maxwell Award is given to the college football offensive player of the year. While the Hornung Award is given to the most versatile player in college football. Last season the senior ran for close to 1700 yards the most by a Husker player since 1997. He could become the first Husker to record three one thousand yard rushing seasons. He is also the nation's active career leader in all purpose yards.

Joining Abdullah on the Hornung watch list is Kenny Bell. During his career Bell excelled as a receiver and kickoff return specialist. With another solid season he could leave as the school's all time leader in receptions and receiving yards. He is also one of the nation’s top returners averaging 26.5 yards per return.

Finally Randy Gregory was named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list. That award is given to the college football's defensive player of the year.
His Junior season Gregory became one of the conference's top defenders. Leading the Big Ten in sacks with 10 ½ and 19 tackles for losses.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KDUH. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.